

Telephone no. 861-0181/Fax: 862-6473 Email address: sangguniangpanlungsod2k19@gmail.com



RESOLUTION NO. 2021-544

RESOLUTION EXPRESSING PROFOUND GRATITUDE TO BATANGAS GOVERNOR HERMILANDO MANDANAS AND FORMER BATAAN GOVERNOR ENRIQUE GARCIA FOR SPEARHEADING AND CHAMPIONING FISCAL AUTONOMY OF THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (LGUs) AS MANDATED BY THE CONSTITUTION THAT RESULTED IN LEGAL VICTORY AT THE SUPREME COURT, THEREBY INCREASING THE JUST SHARE OF LGUS IN THE NATIONAL TAXES.

Sponsored by:

Hon. Coun. Atty. Raul R. Corro

Hon. Coun. Alexson V. Diaz

Hon. Coun. Paty Katy C. Boncayao

Hon. Coun. Louisito A. Arciaga

Hon. Coun. Allan Rey A. Camilon

Hon. Coun. Ting Niefes

Hon. Coun. Stephanie G. Teves - via zoom

Hon. Coun. Ivee Rhia A. Tadefa

Hon. Coun. Engr. Marissa C. Rongavilla - via zoom

Hon. Coun. Francis Ian T. Bagatsing

Hon. Coun. Mark Lester M. Baes

Hon. Coun. Engr. Mamerto T. Sevilla, Jr.

Hon. Coun. Engr. Arlene D. Hilapo

Hon. Coun. Cornelio M. Martinez

Hon. Coun. Walter A. Arcilla

Hon. Coun. Kenichi D. Takagi, Jr. - via zoom

WHEREAS, Section 6 of Article X of the 1987 Constitution states that, "Local Government Units shall have a just share as determined by law, in the national taxes which shall be automatically released to them";

WHEREAS, the right of the LGUs to a just share in the national taxes is likewise provided in Section 284 of Republic Act 7160 which specifically states that just share of the LGUs in the national internal revenue taxes is based on the collection of the third fiscal year preceding the current fiscal year;

WHEREAS, Batangas Governor Hermilando Mandanas and Former Bataan Governor Enrique Garcia filed separate petitions before the Supreme Court of the Philippines, "arguing the just share of the local government units in the national taxes" as mandated by the constitution is not limited to the Internal Revenues Taxes (IRA) but encompasses all national taxes including customs duties;







Telephone no. 861-0181/Fax: 862-6473 Email address: sangguniangpanlungsod2k19@gmail.com



Page 2 Resolution No. 2021-544

WHEREAS, the petition also sought to declare as unconstitutional Section 284 of Republic Act No. 7160 of the Local Government Code of 1991, in limiting the basis for the computation of the local government units' internal revenue allotment to national internal revenue taxes instead of all national taxes as ordained by the Constitution.

WHEREAS, on July 3, 2018 the Supreme Court en banc ruled that, "The exclusion of other national taxes like customs duties from the base for determining the just share of the LGUs contravened the express constitutional edict in Section 6, Article X the 1987 Constitution";

WHEREAS, the Mandanas and Garcia petitions likewise laid down the principle that the just share of the LGUs in the national taxes shall be automatically released and its inclusion in the General Appropriations Acts (GAA) is unnecessary, thus yearly appropriation is done away with;

WHEREAS, through the painstaking efforts of *Batangas Governor Hermilando Mandanas and Former Bataan Governor Enrique Garcia*, the phrase "internal revenue" appearing in Section 284 of Republic Act 7160 was declared unconstitutional and was deleted, hence, granting unto the LGUs the big resources they need in discharging their mandate;

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, by the 9th Sangguniang Panlungsod of Muntinlupa, to express profound gratitude to Batangas Governor Hermilando Mandanas and former Bataan Governor Enrique Garcia for spearheading and championing fiscal autonomy of the Local Government Units as mandated by the Constitution that resulted in legal victory at the Supreme Court, thereby increasing the just share of Local Government Units (LGUs) in the national taxes.

RESOLVED FURTHER, that copy of this resolution be given to Batangas Governor Hermilando Mandanas and former Bataan Governor Enrique Garcia.

ADOPTED, by the 9th Sangguniang Panlungsod of Muntinlupa this 18th day of October 2021, on its 119 Regular Session.

CONCURRED:

DISTRICT 1:

COUN. ATTY. RAUL R. CORRO

Member

COUN. ALEXSON V. DIAZ Member

COUN. LOUISITO A. ARCIAGA

Member

COUN. PATY KATY

TAMA

LUNGSOD NG MUNTINLUPA

the all

1

H



Telephone no. 861-0181/Fax: 862-6473 Email address: sangguniangpanlungsod2k19@gmail.com



Page 3

Resolution No. 2021-544

COUN. ALLAN REY A. CAMILON

Member

COUN. STEPHANIE G. TEVES

Member

COUN. TING NIEFES

Member

COUN. IVEE RHIA A. TADEFA

Member

DISTRICT 2:

COUN. ENGR. MARISSA C. RONGAVILLA

Member

COUN. FRANCIS IAN T. BAGATSING

Member

COUN. MARK LESTER M. BAES

Member

(ABSENT)

COUN. MA. DHESIREE, G. AREVALO

Member

COUN. ENGR. MAMERTO T. SEVILLA, JR.

Member

COUN. ENGR. ARLENE D. HILAPO

Member

COUN. CORNELIO M. MARTINEZ

Member

COUN. WALTER A. ARCILLA

President

Sectoral Representative

Association of Barangay Chairman

COUN. KENICH D TAKAGI, JR.

President

Sectoral Representative

Federation of Săngguniang Kabataan

I HEREBY CERTIFY, as to the correctness of the foregoing Resolution.

CECILIA C. LAZARTE

Secretary to the Sanggunian



YAN ANG TAMA





Telephone no. 861-0181/Fax: 862-6473 Email address: sangguniangpanlungsod2k19@gmail.com



Page 4 Resolution No. 2021-544

ATTESTED:

ARTEMIO A. SIMUNDAC

City Vice-Mayor/Presiding Officer

APPROVED:

ATTY. JAIME R. FRESNEDI City Mayor





